Nekkerpool nominated for ARC Award 2013

25 September 2013


Nekkerpool nominated for ARC Award 2013

Nekkerpool is one of the four nominees for the ARC13 Architecture Award. The ARC Award is initiated to commend projects that combine use and technique in an innovative way. The nominees were selected from a record number of 110 submissions. The purpose of the ARC Award is to stimulate sustainability as integral part of architecture.

The four nominees are Nekkerpool by VenhoevenCS architecture+urbanism, Lo-Reninge by noA architecten, De Karel Doorman by Ibelings van Tilburg architecten and Villa Kogelhof by Paul de Ruiter. The jury of the ARC13 Architecture Award consists of Don Murphy (VMX Architects, chairman), Marjolein van Eig (Inbo), Tracy Metz (journalist and author), Bianca Seekles (ERA Contour) and Harm Tilman (de Architect, secretary jury).

Nekkerpool is not only a modern and sustainable swimming complex, but it also gives the Nekker recreation centre a complete facelift. The landscape is fully integrated into the design and plays a vital role in the light, spaciousness  and transparency of the building; characterized by large windows, a panoramic patio, connecting canopy and spectacular pergola.

Sustainability was a leading theme in both the materials choice (cradle 2 cradle tiles on the building exterior) and installations (pool water that is buffered at night to prevent evaporation, a state-of-the-art energy roof and the achievement of a K-level of 17). These are just a few examples to meet the client’s high ambitions in terms of sustainability. In addition, a budget was set aside to monitor the building’s energy consumption in two years time, making the feasible and appropriate adjustments needed to render the building energy-neutral.

Nekkerpool was realised in cooperation with Buro II & Archi+i.

ARC13 has a number of awards for renowned offices and young professionals. This year, designers could apply for awards in chair design, interior and architecture. The projects are then judged by professional jurys. The winners will be announced during the festive award show on November 26, 2013, in Rotterdam. Check for more information.

All news